Do I read?

Do I read?

I first listened to Robin Jarvis’ Deptford Mice trilogy when I was about 8 years old on audio tape during various car journeys my parents took me and my sisters on. Years later I decided to read it again, mostly because I had such vivid memories of the story and wanted to see if it was as good as my young mind had preserved it. I read the first book The Dark Portal on my kindle on and off over the course of a few weeks. I thoroughly enjoyed remembering the storyline as I went through the book, the evil rats and their God Jupiter with his evil plans. It was the finishing of this book, and the starting of the next that made me want to write this blog. The first line I read out of my next book Terry Pratchett’s A Blink of the Screen was from the forward and stated that ‘even people who don’t read read Pratchett.’ I though to myself, oh dear, I think I fall into that category, having read every Pratchett book but little else. It is time to come out of that – I am going to read a little every day and report on my progress. I will though be starting with the aforementioned Pratchett book, since I have started and would hate to leave it unfinished. That would be contrary to this blog’s mission.

